2019 Youth Media Award Winners – Post | BookPage


2019 Youth Media Award Winners

Posted by Hilli, Assistant Editor on January 28, 2019

This morning the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top prizes in children’s and young adult literature, including the Caldecott, Newbery and Printz awards.

Scroll on to see the full list of winners and read more about these acclaimed books!

NEWBERY MEDAL, for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: Merci Suárez Changes Gears by Meg Medina (Candlewick)

Newbery Honor Books:

CALDECOTT MEDAL, for the most distinguished American picture book for children: Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall (Little, Brown)

Caldecott Honor Books:

CORETTA SCOTT KING AUTHOR BOOK AWARD, for an African-American author of outstanding books for children and young adults: Claire Hartfield for A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 (Bloomsbury) 

King Author Honor Books:

CORETTA SCOTT KING ILLUSTRATOR BOOK AWARD, for an African-American illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults: Ekua Holmes for The Stuff of Stars, written by Marion Dane Bauer (Candlewick)

King Illustrator Honor Books:

  • Hidden Figures illustrated by Laura Freeman, written by Margot Lee Shetterly (HarperCollins)
  • Let the Children March illustrated by Frank Morrison, written by Monica Clark-Robinson (HMH)
  • Memphis, Martin, and the Mountaintop illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Alice Faye Duncan, (Calkins Creek) 

CORETTA SCOTT KING/JOHN STEPTOE NEW TALENT AUTHOR AWARD: Tiffany D. Jackson for Mondays Not Coming (Katherine Tegen)

PRINTZ: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (HarperTeen)

Printz Honor Books:

CHILDREN’ S LITERATURE LEGACY AWARD, for a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children: Walter Dean Myers

MARGARET A. EDWARDS AWARD, for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults: M.T. Anderson

MILDRED L. BATCHELDER AWARD, for an outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated to English for publication in the U.S.: The Fox on the Swing by Evelina Daciūtė, illustrated by Aušra Kiudulaite

PURA BELPRÉ AUTHOR AWARD, for a Latinx writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience: Elizabeth Acevedo for The Poet X (HarperTeen)

PURA BELPRÉ ILLUSTRATOR AWARD: Yuyi Morales for Dreamers (Neal Porter)

Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor Books:

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished information book for children: The Girl Who Drew Butterflies: How Maria Merian’s Art Changed Science by Joyce Sidman (HMH)

Stonewall Book Award for children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQ+ experience: Julián Is a Mermaid by Jessica Love (Candlewick) and Hurricane Child by Kheryn Callender (Scholastic Press)

Stonewall Honor Books:

WILLIAM C. MORRIS AWARD, for a debut YA author: Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram (Dial)

William C. Morris Award finalists:

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults: The Unwanted: Stories of Syrian Refugees by Don Brown

Click here to view all the winners, including the Schneider Awards (books that embody an artistic expression of the experience of disability), the Alex Award (the 10 best adult books that appeal to teens), the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book and more.



Source link